On March 9th, 2018, the scent of joy and togetherness was palpable in Kailashnagar, Bhilai as Christian College of Engineering and Technology (CCET) celebrated its 19th Annual day popularly known as SYMPHONIA-2018. The annual function started with lighting of lamp ceremony in the presence of the Chief Guest, Mr Devendra Yadav, Mayor of Bhilai Nagar Nigam,  Guest of Honor, Mrs Sushila Dewangan, Corporator, Ward 16, Kurud, H. G. Bishop Dr Joseph Mar Dionysius, Chairman, CCET, Bhilai, Fr Jose K Varghese, EVC, CCET, Fr Kurien John, Secretary, St Thomas Mission, Fr Joshi Varghese, Chief Education Officer of St Thomas Mission, Dr Dipali Soren, Principal, CCET, Dr Anil Choubey, Convener of Symphonia-2018 and Professor I/C of Student Council, Ms Ashana Khatoon, Vice-President, Student Council, CCET, Head of Departments, Media Persons, parents and students.

In her welcome speech the Principal of CCET, Dr Dipali Soren invited the gathering to share the colours of joy and to enjoy the festivities. She presented the annual report of the college and congratulated all the students for bringing laurels to the college. She informed that CCET is the only private technical college in Chhattisgarh which publishes a national journal (JSEE:SIF-4.282).  She congratulated Mr Shubham Dixena (8th Sem, CSE) for being awarded the prestigious Hanyang Change maker award at a global event in Manila, Philippines and for getting an opportunity to participate in South Korea’s social venture forum. The Executive Vice Chairman of CCET, Fr Jose K Varghese in his introductory speech motivated the gathering to work hard to achieve their desired goal. On this occasion he also applauded the efforts of faculties and students for shaping the future of the region. Ms Ashana Khatoon in her speech said that CCET is a pioneer in providing morally and ethically sound technical education to the masses. She expressed her gratitude to student council members, professor Incharge, convener, faculties and CCET management for grand success of Symphonia-2018. The Convener, Dr Anil Choubey in his felicitation speech emphasised the value of unity by giving example of the success of Symphonia-2018 by the integrated efforts of students, faculties, employees and the management. He also presented a brief report about the activities of student council as well as various events organized under the aegis of Symphonis-18. The Guest of Honor, Mrs Shushila Dewangan asked the gathering to respect their teachers and elders, who pave the way for our future successes. The Chairman of CCET, H. G. Bishop Dr Joseph Mar Dionysius in his presidential address educated the gathering that symphonia means co-ordination. He said that coordination and sharing are the recipes of prosperity and Symphonia-2018 is a vessel for this very purpose. He urged the gathering to work for humanity irrespective of their caste, creed or community. The Chief Guest, Mr Devendra Yadav congratulated CCET for its 19 years of excellence and guidance to a whole generation of engineers. While emphasising the role of teachers in one’s life he asked the gathering to be always connected with them and heed their words as it contains the sum of their life experiences.

On this occasion the annual magazine of CCET ‘Footprint-2018’ was unveiled. In recognition of the achievements and skills of CCETians, various scholarships, academic awards, trophies and cash prizes were awarded by the dignitaries to the winners and runner-ups of a plethora of exciting events organized by various clubs and associations of CCET like intracollege cricket, badminton, table tennis, track and field competitions by Sports Club, Robosoccer, Aqua NFS, Angry Bird, Pillow Trump, Tug of War, Pitthul by Technoclub, Double Dare Devil and Ludo by CSE association, Gully Cricket by Mechanical Engineering Association together with Swar Song competition, Beat to beat dance competition, Jugal bandi & Open mic and Fashion Show by cultural club. The Peter Thomas Award for best allrounder was awarded to Mr Anuj Gupta (Mech, 8th Sem). Dr R N Dash Endowment Cup for overall topper of 1st and 2nd  semester was won by Mr Laxmikant Sahu of CSE dept. Overall Champion in sports were Mr Anuj Gupta (Mech, 8th Sem) and Ms Shweta Toppo (E&TC, 8th sem). The Overall champion in cultural were Mr Nibin John Ninan (Mech, 8th sem) and Ms Shreya Tripathi (CSE, 8th sem). The gathering was brimming with zeal and ardor when the students of CCET presented fantastically crafted and masterfully executed traditional and modern songs and dance programs. To cater to the need of students a plethora of mouthwatering recipes and snacks were served through various food stalls installed by the students of CCET. The Co-convener of Symphonia-2018, Mrs Dhanya Vineesh, Asst Prof, E&TC Dept proposed the Vote of Thanks. The anchor of Symphonia-2017 was Dr Archana Choudhary, Associate Professor, CSE dept.